Urban Meyer signs a contract with his daughters before Ohio State

The college football world is all mixed in scandals, accusations, and self-imposed bowl bans.  It’s been a pretty tough year, you’d have to admit.  Here’s a little ray of light in all that darkness: Urban Meyer signed a contract with his daughters before signing his contract with Ohio State.

First and foremost, let me disqualify all the arrows I’m going to receive for posting something about Ohio State, as I hold zero affiliation to the school.  Nor am I looking forward to watching my Michigan State Spartans have to deal with the star players he’s bound to attract.  Outside all that, this is a dad showing his family priority.  When the whole world is touting how amazing he is and how much money he’ll make, his family is keeping him honest.  And then they made him write it all down and sign it.

Gonna be a lot of orange and blue purged from those closets

It shows a huge appreciation for him as a Dad.  His daughters, (Gigi and Nikki) although interestingly named, have reason for concern.  Meyer suffered heart issues back in 2009 and 2010, leading up to his retirement.  Let’s face it, coming in to a school ripped with scandal isn’t exactly going to be easy on the man’s heart.  So, his daughters told him what he needs to do and he needs to stick to it.

Why does he need to stick to it?  Well, staying alive would be the primary driver, but honoring a pledge to his daughters.  That may seem somewhat grand, but you do the same thing for your daughter every day when you work at your job to put food on the table, treat her mom with respect, and just being there for her.

"I'm doing it for my daughter" "I'm doing it for my daughter" "I'm doing it for my daughter" "I'm doing it for my daughter" "I'm doing it for my daughter" "I'm doing it for my daughter"

It would probably be a weird message given all the congrats he’s getting, but I’d tell Urban Meyer, “Thanks for being a dad…”

-Scott-

Leave a Reply

